Crockpot Chicken Tikka Masala and Delicious Rice!

25 03 2011

There is a new Indian restaurant in town, and as I’ve never had Indian food, I peeked out of my shell a bit to go try it out.  As you might guess, I am now addicted to chicken tikka masala, and to an even greater extent, naan.  My attempts at naan recipes failed, much like most of my attempts at making bread that contains yeast, but I heavily modified some recipes to make chicken tikka masala, that I feel is fairly successful.

Crockpot Chicken Tikka Masala

Ingredients

  • 1.5-2 lb. chicken (I used boneless chicken thighs)
  • 8 oz. tomato sauce
  • 16 oz. heavy whipping cream
  • 1/4 tsp. lime juice concentrate
  • Seasoning  (yep, dried in a bottle from the grocery store)
    • Curry powder (or its ingredients: coriander, fenugreek, turmeric, cumin, black pepper, bay leaves, celery seed, nutmeg, cloves, onion, red pepper, and ginger)
    • Powdered ginger
    • Powdered garlic
    • Minced onion
    • Paprika
    • Old Bay Seasoning (which doesn’t list its full list, but notes that it includes red and black pepper)

*Chicken, tomato sauce, and cream are the only ingredients common to most of the recipes I found.  Most said 8 0z. each of tomato sauce and cream for 1.5 lb of chicken; that was too dry for overnight in the crockpot, so about halfway through I added the remaining cream.  I plan to try this with 12 oz. each instead.

Instructions

  1. Cut chicken into small pieces (on the order of 1-inch cubes), removing excess fat, skin, and bones if necessary.  Set aside.
  2. Pour tomato sauce into crockpot.
  3. Add seasonings until the sauce smells delicious, but  no longer smells like canned ravioli.  Be sure to stir them in before checking by smell.
  4. Mix cream into the sauce.
  5. Repeat smell check, and add seasoning if necessary.  (If you like it spicy, now’s the time to get a quick taste–dairy tends to block spice)
  6. Add lime.
  7. Mix chicken into the sauce, stirring well to ensure that all the pieces are separated.
  8. Cook on low for about 8 hours.

Note: Unlike most of my crockpot recipes, which are water-based, this is made with cream.  This can cause some nastiness in your crockpot when it’s all done, so if yours doesn’t have a removable inside part, make sure you’ll have the time to clean it soon after cooking.

Most recipes also call for marinating the chicken in yogurt, lemon juice, and seasoning, and then not adding any citrus to the sauce.  I made this at about 11 p.m., so I didn’t really want to stay up to wait for the chicken to juicify.  It probably would have helped, though.

 

NomsyLee says it tastes like lobster bisque, but with chicken.  I can’t really comment on that, as I didn’t even know what bisque was (but somehow knew how to spell it?).  It doesn’t match the Indian place, but I think it’s just as good.

 

So what’s all this about delicious rice, you ask?  Well, I tend to be pretty bad at cooking rice.  Shameful, I know.  I use the same long-grain white rice that we use at home, but somehow always manage to either burn it or not cook it enough.  No more!  I have found an effective way to make plain white rice delicious!

It’s pretty simple, and I provide you with the full explanation of how, exactly, it happened:

  1. Heat water (about twice the volume of water as volume of rice, err on the side of less water) until it’s nearly boiling.
  2. Add rice.
  3. Stir the rice, then cover and reduce heat to somewhere around 3-4 (I think that’s the equivalent of medium-low).
  4. Forget about the rice.  Get on internet.
  5. Half an hour later, get bored, go into the kitchen, discover rice.
  6. Turn off heat and move to cold burner or pad.
  7. Remove lid to check and make sure nothing’s burnt.  Sniff.  Realize that not only is it not burnt, but it smells surprisingly good.
  8. Wander off again.
  9. 10+ minutes later, rediscover rice.  The rice in the middle will have finished fluffing from the steam, and the rice on top and bottom won’t be soggy from sitting in water.  It also won’t be all stuck together in a big block.

That’s all I’ve got right now!

Actions

Information

One response

25 03 2011
Recipe Chefs

I love food, and I really enjoy reading your blog very much thank you for sharing this post. Feel free to check out our recipes

The Most Delicious Baked Cod Recipe

Leave a Reply

