The frenzy continues!

24 09 2009

Thanks to everyone who has replied to the next post down… There are still 3 slots open, and I’m just now getting started on those stitch markers.  (Hang on, double checking… *counts on fingers* Yep, 3 spaces left. )

(Yes, I’m an engineering student who forgot how to count.  At least I can still count on my fingers in binary.)

I got out of lab early so I thought I’d update before my next class.

I just finished Baby Hat #6, and took a group picture!  The sizes vary quite a bit; one of them I’m worried won’t fit on any baby’s head, one of them will probably wait in a drawer for a month or two.  I don’t spend much time around anyone under the age of 10, so I’m not really sure how big a baby’s head is.  In the picture, the DPNs (8″) and bottlecap are there for reference.  I’m not sponsored by Coca-Cola.  (If they were paying me to knit and blather about knitting, though, that’d be kind of cool.)

Tadaa!  I tried not to cling too closely to the “girls like pink and boys like blue” thing.  I was always fond of BRIGHT RED.  Well, now I like blue.  But red is still fun.

The purple (and all of these are Simply Soft Eco, by the way), aka Mulberry Mist, looks kind of rough and grey indoors, but I worked on that huge one outside for a little while… it GLOWS this really nice warm purple.  I’ll have to try to get a picture outside before I send these wherever they are going.

Interested in the patterns?  The cute froggies are based on Sammakkopipo (Ravelry pattern page)–I just used two repeats of the chart.  I don’t speak Finnish, unfortunately.  The smaller purple hat is directly from Preemie Hats for Charity (Ravelry | Pattern site).  The blue cable-ish looking one is Mock Rib and Cable Hat (Ravelry | Pattern site).  It turned out much smaller than expected, so if you knit tightly and/or only have DPNs two sizes smaller or 3 sizes bigger (like I do), you may want to add a repeat or two around. The lavender and off-white striped hat is a simple K3/P3 rib, and the green with pompom is a few rows of garter stitch, stockinette with decreases based on Preemie Hats for Charity.  (Finally, I understand why they keep getting those weird little points on top!)

Anyway, today has (so far) been much better than expected.  I stayed up pretty late studying for the test I had at 8 A.M., neglecting the homework that’s due in half an hour.  I did that homework when I got back from the test, then went to lab, which took about an hour less than the given time, and half an hour longer than I had anticipated upon reading the lab.  (I forgot to connect a jumper.  Oops.)  Amazingly, I’m not tired!  Need to eat, though.  Can’t get real food until after class.  I think I’m going to make Lee (he’s on Ravelry now!)

Well, time to get my notebooks and such back together so I can get to class on time!

Actions

Information

2 responses

26 09 2009
Darcy

A baby’s head is 14 to 16 inches around as a newborn I love your froggy hat so pretty:) Hugs Darcy
darcysknottyknitter@gmail.com

28 09 2009
Lopsy Li

Thanks for the tip–I had a chart somewhere with sizes (ranging, I think, from 1 month premature to “normal”), but can’t find it now. So most of these are actually kind of small, but should still be in that 11-14 inch range. (Source: Chart–link to which has disappeared–for premature baby hat sizing)

Leave a Reply

