Lacy things

12 08 2009

(I’m tossing this into the “Tutorials” tag as well, as that’s where the proposed idea will likely go).

So today I went to the movies with some kuh-razy kuh-nitters. These were part of the group that gathers at Yes Yarn!.  The movie was Julie & Julia, a movie based on a book based on a blog (which, I suppose one could say, is based on a cookbook–though it might be a bit of a stretch).  My opinion?  Funny, cute, but if you’re looking for more detail to the plot than was explicitly shown in the advertisements, you will be disappointed.  Overall, however, I enjoyed it.  If you want a good light-hearted comedy, go see it.

Now, on to the main point of this post:  I have just ordered three KnitPicks needle tips with one cable and just purchased a pair of Addi Lace needles.  The needles are as follows:

  • KnitPicks Harmony Wood — US8/5.0mm
  • KnitPicks Zephyr Acrylic — US4/3.5mm
  • KnitPicks Nickel-plated — US6/4.25mm
  • Addi Turbo Lace — US6/4.25mm

The KnitPicks are interchangeables, and will be sharing a 40″ cable.  The Addi needle is on a 32″ cable.

I got different sizes because I figured that if I liked all of them enough to use, I could save some effort in getting specific sizes by already having a variety.

So here is the plan: I am going to pick comparable lace patterns for each size and work a segment of it.  Then, I am going to post a review of all four types of needles–which I like best, least, and WHY.  I know I’m not covering a huge amount of variety by just using these two brands, but these are the two brands whose names are tossed around the most.

I also have a pair of Boye circular needles, which I have been using for all non-DPN circular work to date–not that there has been much.  They are, I believe, size 8.  My only complaints are that the join between needle and cable are a little easy to catch stitches on, and the sudden change in size on the needle makes it difficult to slide stitches back onto the needle once they’ve been on the cable for a while.  If anyone is interested in me including these in the “competition,” please comment to let me know.

I think that I may do a video review, including some video of working with the needles.

So far I have only ever worked with aluminium needles, and aluminium or steel crochet hooks (mostly aluminium).  This will not only be my first branch out into the world of lace/circular needles, but also into nonmetal, or at least non-aluminium, needles.

EDIT: I think that this pattern (view on Ravelry) might make a good testing pattern, since it’s fairly simple, doesn’t call for exact gauge (so I don’t feel the need to worry a whole lot about sizing), and is free.  Please do comment with any suggestions for patterns to use.  (I chose a scarf/wrap worked in rows without increase/decrease in order to get an idea after only a few pattern repeats of the needle function/comfort of use.)  I will likely use a few different yarns just to be consistent of the relationship between the working gauge and the needle size (so no worsted with the US4 needles, probably.) but will try to keep these similar in texture.

Actions

Information

3 responses

12 08 2009
victoriag

I think this is a great idea! I’d be interested to see what happens…I’m kinda hooked on my KnitPicks interchangeables…they do the job for me, though I don’t work with laceweight yarn…I do though with sock yarn in lacey shawl patterns. I’ll be following this 🙂
oh! and I love the shawl pattern, should be a good way to “needle-sample”.

12 08 2009
inkberryblue

What a beautiful pattern (and a sad story that goes with it.)
I don’t have any opinions on the knitting needles because I’m such an inexperienced knitter, but I’m really interested to see what you come up with.

12 08 2009
Lopsy Li

I’m pretty new to knitting too… it was the variety of responses when I was asking for opinions on lace needles that made me decide to try a variety. It seemed like a better plan than spending ~$50 on a set, just to discover that I didn’t like them.

Leave a Reply

