“I’d rather be knitting”

8 08 2009

Finished moving into the new place.  It’s smaller than the last place and I’ll have a roommate, but so far it’s pretty much bug free, and it was clean when I moved in.

This is much better than the last apartment already–there was a spaghetti noodle on the wall when I moved in there.
So now I’m working on a baby hat.

Yes, you heard me right.  No, I’m not expecting.

I’m making hats for premature babies.  The “I Wish I Could Knit!” group is doing this along with our regular KALs, and I decided that since I’m not much for dishcloths, I’d try out a circular item.  So far it’s fun, though my fingers are sore from the tiny dpns.

Here it is, being reluctantly modeled by Тигр… His head’s a little too big, so I had to take a few more pics.

So… This is going a little slowly (due to my inability to stay focused), but pretty well!  I think once I finish this, I’ll try again at making those “yoga socks,” then perhaps I’ll get into (gasp) socks.  Uh oh, I’m on the road to true addiction.  I even took a video of knitting some of this.

Anyway, I’m a little worried that I’m slowly turning into Dolores from Dead Like Me.  I’ve started giggling, and now I’m knitting things that I will never use.  Soon, I’ll be making someone a pencil sharpener cozy!

Meanwhile, I’m trying to decide what kind of yarn to get for that jacket I found in Interweave Knits…  (Quick recap–I found the pattern on Ravelry, then out of sheer luck managed to pick up the right one at a library book sale)  I’d like something washable, relatively cheap, but still durable and cozy.  I haven’t decided on color yet, though I’d like a “normal” solid rather than a tweed (disregard the name of the pattern: Backstage Tweed Jacket).

I went to WalMart on Thursday night to get yarn and double pointed needles to start on the baby hats… I got 3 skeins of Simply Soft Eco and one cone of Peaches&Creme.  So far, these have been my “favorite” yarns, and the ones I use most often.  Go figure.

Right now, that is my entire stash, and all the knitting supplies I have.  The rest is at Lee’s place, along with all of those magazines.  Fortunately for me (though perhaps not in terms of progress in unpacking), he’s bringing the giant box of yarn/supplies over, as well as the magazines.  Finally, I can weave in the ends on the wedding present!

Well, I need to get back to knitting if I ever want to finish this hat…

And yes, I just said that I NEED to knit.


And now for your not-so-daily segment, Learn Something New Every Day! (LSNED)

The topic I picked was migraines, because I’ve been having a lot of them lately, and have one right now.  (Yes, I’m still on the computer, no, I don’t have any sense.  It’s a very mild one, just over the eye and temple.  Just wish there were other light sources in here besides lamps.)  Some of this information is my observations, some is from Wikipedia.

Migraines are, basically, very bad headaches, so you can imagine how frustrating it is to miss a day of work/school because you couldn’t turn on the light… because of a headache.  Some have what is called an “aura” before the migraine hits–a sensation, whether visual, auditory, or tactile, sometimes even olfactory.  The migraine itself is the pain, often accompanied by nausea (and sometimes vomiting), altered vision (eg, tunnel vision), and sensitivity to light, sound, and/or strong odors.

I could go on for a good long time here, but I don’t want to do that–I just wanted to give the basics above to explain to those who don’t already know what migraines are.  What I want to point out is what my “a-hah!” moment was today, when skimming the page:

Migraine attacks may be triggered by:

MedlinePlus medical encyclopedia[42]

Now, I knew some of these.  My pediatrician, when I was about 7, told me not to drink red wine.  I think he was trying to be funny, but I took his words seriously and at face value.  I’ve found that certain food combinations make me sick, certain settings.  I don’t get an aura, but instead sort of a pre-headache, and that alone could tell me that I should avoid that potential trigger from then on, even if that feeling didn’t lead to a migraine.  I stopped eating pizza or anything with red dye for years.  It’s made me even more of a picky eater than I already was, which is pretty bad.

But what really got me, reading that, is that I have always hated bacon, and been iffy about most sausages–I generally dislike them.  The smell of bacon cooking can make me feel nauseous.  Home-cooked breakfast was torture.  This perhaps explains it.

That’s all I have to say, except that now that I’ve rambled about that tiny weird detail of my life, I’m going to go keep reading to see if they have any information on the link between migraines and epilepsy.  I’ve heard, but have never found written anywhere, that the two are linked.

Edit (from wikipedia, links preserved):

The incidence of migraine is related to the incidence of epilepsy in families, with migraine twice as prevalent in family members of epilepsy sufferers, and more common in epilepsy sufferers themselves.[88]

Happy Wikipedia~ing!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

