Eek, what happened?

26 07 2009

Tonight, once I finished weaving the ends in on a project, I calculated how long the starting chain should be and started on that afghan I was talking about in the previous post.

And when I finally got it to the right length (took a few tries; I can do differential equations with no problem, all four functions in my head, but I can’t count past about 5 without trouble), I turned to do the next row and… it didn’t work.  I couldn’t even do a single crochet.

I know I can still do it, because I had just finished a small bag while I was working on the swap project (left).

So let’s see, I can knit and I can crochet… but I can apparently only knit in rows and crochet and the round?  What a ripoff!  I’ve been wanting to make a zigzag afghan since I was 5.  And no matter how much I try, it seems like granny squares don’t work for me.  I make a circle and go around and… Suddenly I’ve got this tangled mess.

Well, I said I’d post pictures, so I’m posting some pictures.

First off, I finally finished this scarf.  I knit it, and it took me about a month.  I took it with me to the Knit @ Nite at Yes Yarn!, and was told that it’s probably more of a stole.  Why?  Well, I used a needle several sizes larger than called for… It seemed like the way to go to learn, since bigger needles are supposedly easier for beginners.  What I ended up with was something more “lacy” than expected.  It’s about twice as wide, though that’s mostly because somehow I added 30 stitches along the first couple of knit-only rows.  Also, I think on those I knit in the “back leg” of the stitches.  The end shown in the picture is the good end–the last rows I knitted.

The pattern, is available free on the Lion Brand Yarn website, here (requires login).  It’s also on Ravelry, though that will lead you back over to the LBY site.

And on a random note, Firefox seems to think that “didn’t” is misspelled.  Or rather, it’s saying that “didn” is not a word, and is ignoring the “‘t.”

I’m debating posting the afghan stitch potholder I made for a friend a few years ago… It’s almost the same as the “Simple Potholder” pattern that I’ve already posted, and works up in about the same amount of time.  It could be a good beginner project in the afghan stitch / using Tunisian crochet.

And now to go off on another tangent!  Why is it suddenly “Tunisian crochet”?  The first time I heard of a place called Tunisia, it was in an early episode of Jake 2.0.  I’d really like to know why all of a sudden everyone says Tunisian… admittedly, I learned to crochet from my father, who made a comment that eventually I could learn the afghan stitch so that I could make… (drumroll, please) afghans.  When I finally looked up the afghan stitch (about 10 years later), I discovered that there was no way I could ever make an afghan with the afghan stitch… at least as far as I could tell.  It was several more years before I found out about afghan hooks (in another aside from my father).  Now I have one with a flexible cord (14″), and have a very long square dowel for making one.

Why square?  Well, the end has to stop the stitches, right?  And I can sand it as round as I want.  So why not square?  It’s basswood, which is hard enough (I think), but also easy enough to work with.  For some reason, only Mechanical Engineering students are allowed in the shop.  We EE’s are just screwed, if we ever decide to make something.
And now, to protect you from my ranting, I’m going to end with a quick segment that I hope will become regular:

Learn Something New Every Day! (category: LSNED)

Okay, I actually learned this a few days ago, but I’ve been waiting for the right moment to post it.  I think now will do fine.

I was listening to Pandora radio when a song came on called “Snapdragon.”  It occurred to me that I had heard the word once or twice, but had no clue what it was.  So I searched.

The “snapdragon” is a kind of flower, in the genus Antirrhinium (Haha, firefox knows how to spell that!).  The name comes from the idea that this flower looks (apparently) like a dragon, and apparently it was all the rage to squish it so that the mouth “snapped.”

Now, I don’t know about you, but this does not look much like a dragon to me.

But then, as often happens on wikipedia, I found myself directed to more information… in this case, a disambiguation page was available.  Now, as an electical engineering student, I should have been intrigued by the processor sharing its name with this creepy little flower, but instead I noticed that there was a game by the name of “snap-dragon.”

This game is played by tossing raisins into some brandy, which is in a bowl on the table… Then setting the brandy on fire.  How is this a game, you ask?  Well, the goal here is to get the raisins out, and eat them.  While the brandy is still on fire.  On this page there is a picture of a dragon playing snapdragon, which is pretty hilarious.

The game snapdragon is also called flapdragon, perhaps because of all the flailing about caused by catching oneself on fire.

Sometimes, I really wonder where we come up with the things we do to amuse ourselves.

Actions

Information

2 responses

4 08 2009
Tori

pretty scarf! I love snapdragons; my grandmother in Scotland had a garden full of them & I vividly recall squeezing the flower to make the dragon’s mouth open & shut 🙂

4 08 2009
Lopsy Li

I just can’t imagine seeing a dragon there… When I found out it was a flower, I thought, “Oh, must be something like a venus fly trap!” It just looks like a tiny pansy or daffodil to me.
Now that I think of it, I think daffodils look kind of like lions. That’s a bit of a stretch itself…

Leave a Reply

